Invasive Species

The natural world is
The earthly mind, always
Changing all the time.
In her mysterious yet
Predictable ways.
A tree falls, it
Never just disappears.
A tree grows, but
not without sustenance.
Constant change, a
Necessary purge.

As for me, I must be
Some unearthly thing.
In my mind, it all
disappears in a
world of shadows.
What grows inside I’ve
Refused to feed and
Yet it all flourishes.
An invasive species.

I myself must be
Invasive to this world as
I dwell as one unattached.
One whose mind pays no heed
to earthly things.
My nightshade garden
Cursed by something beyond this world.

Leave a comment

Filed under consciousness, nature, poem, poetry, writing

Leave a Reply

