Your words

Your words are rose petals
And I catch them as they fall.
The cold earth can’t know their meaning
And such a descent
Isn’t meant for sweet life
Reaching for the sun.

Your words are like grenades
That you throw my way
And I catch them as they come.
The ground is too dirty
For such deep and true meaning.
I will gladly sacrifice my hands
If I could earn your trust,
Because you see,
Spent grenades can’t be thrown back
Or passed down the line
Where hungry monsters hide.
I do not cast pearls
Before swine.

2 Comments

Filed under poem, poetry

2 responses to “Your words

  1. This is amazing. You’ve used some really beautiful imagery here.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

