The Levee has Broken

Do I allow myself to cry or

Am I slave to my tears?

I remember it’s been 

So many long years

Since I was numb.

Practically deaf blind and dumb

To the atrocities that buried me.

Oh what a wish for what I could be.

But I can’t.

Seems I’ve lost that skill

And now my heart

Won’t fit the bill 

anymore.

The slightest sadness

And I hit the floor.

I don’t want to feel.

I don’t want to be,

But the black hands of the world

Have hold of me.

Leave a comment

Filed under poem, poetry

Leave a Reply

